#1 abruner

abruner

Bronze Member

• Members
  • 32 posts
  • My Furkids:Maggie

• Sign: Nothing Selected

Posted 16 April 2009 - 03:35 PM

Have any of you taken online or correspondance courses for your training? I am wanting to make a career change and am looking into grooming. There are no schools close to me and found several ads for online courses. I was just wondering if anyone has tried these and how their experience was...

Thanks in advance
Alyssa

#2 suzzz123

suzzz123

Bronze Member

• Members
  • 129 posts

• Sign: Scorpio

Posted 16 April 2009 - 10:04 PM

I was an apprentice at a shop and also learned the books and all that stuff through the shop. If at all possible I would suggest going to a local shop checking it out and see if you can hang out with the groomers and see what it is all about. I was also looking for a career change and I always loved dogs so I became interested in grooming after working for many years in an office it was a great change, but it is the hardest job I have ever done it can be very physically and mentaly draining but also hugely rewarding. I have been grooming for 7 yrs now. I think the 1st year is the hardest I had never been so sore or tired, it's very dirty and hairy of course hair is in everything you own you need 2 sets of clothes for sure the equipment was about $500 to start. You probably can learn to do all the breed standard grooming in an online course but handling the animals is 80% of the job how to work with puppies, old senile dogs, dogs that bite they will pee throw up and poop on your table at somepoint so I hope you are not squeaminsh. Are you planning on working by yourself or in a moble grooming van ? Or did you want to go into a shop ? Check out this website groomers BBS Grooming will never make you rich so you need to be sure its a passion. I dont know anyone who did an online course maybe you can do the course and work partime in a shop to learn dog handling Good luck let me know if you need any help