#1 lauriejw

lauriejw

Bronze Member

• Members
  • 35 posts
  • My Furkids:Elvis

• Sign: Nothing Selected

Posted 12 May 2008 - 01:05 PM

I think this has been discussed before, but I can't find it, try as I might.

A coworker's friend just got a Shih Tzu puppy, 9 weeks old, weighs about 4 pounds. She says it's a "Miniature Shih Tzu," and has been told it will grow to weigh about 5 pounds.

is there such a thing as a Miniature Shih Tzu?

I think my Elvis is a bit on the larger end of the breed standard at 13-15 pounds, but he was a little over 4 pounds when I got him at 7 weeks. So I'm a bit skeptical of the maximum 5 pounds claim. Cute puppy, though, I've seen pics.

#2 shihtzumomof2

shihtzumomof2

If the Tzu fits.....

• Members
  • 1764 posts
  • Interests:Pets, gardening, pets, crafts, knitting, crochet, computer, pets, relaxing and enjoying my home and my pets. :-) I am also a realtor.
  • My Furkids:Casey, Kylie and my Angel Cricket (RIP 2-4-2010)

• Sign: Capricorn

Posted 12 May 2008 - 01:10 PM

There are what they call "Imperial" Shih Tzu's which are bred to be smaller. But if this puppy is 4 lbs at 9 weeks, he is definitely going to be much more than 5 lbs. full grown. There is no way this dog will only gain one more pound in the next 10 months. But, I guess time will tell.

#3 tzukeeper

tzukeeper

Gold Member

• Members
  • 6481 posts

Posted 12 May 2008 - 01:10 PM

There are some very small Shih Tzu out there. Some even weighing in at 5lbs as an adult. But if your friends puppy already weighs in at 4lbs at 9weeks I'd say he is surely going to gain way more than a 1lb over the next year. My Opie weighed 2lbs at 9 weeks and now weighs in at 13 lbs and I'm not sure he is done growing yet. :blush-anim-cl:

#4 MisterMom

MisterMom

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1008 posts
  • My Furkids:Angel (10) Missy (7) Coco (3.5 died) Brandi (2.5)

• Sign: Sagittarius

Posted 12 May 2008 - 01:54 PM

Coco is not quite 3#'s at 3 months. I hope she gets a growth spurt !!